Wisdom Wide and Deep: A Practical Handbook for Mastering Jhana and Vipassana

By Shaila Catherine

Wisdom huge and Deep is a entire advisor to an in-depth education that emphasizes the appliance of targeted cognizance (jhana) to profound and freeing perception (vipassana). With calm, tranquility, and composure validated via a realistic adventure of jhana meditators may be able to halt the likely unending conflict opposed to obstacles, do away with distraction, and facilitate a penetrative perception into the sophisticated nature of topic and brain. It was once for that reason the Buddha usually exhorted his students,

Wisdom large and Deep follows and amplifies the lessons in Shaila Catherine's acclaimed first ebook, Focused and Fearless: A Meditator's advisor to States of Deep pleasure, Calm, and Clarity. Readers will discover ways to improve this profound balance, maintain an in-depth exam of the nuances of brain and topic, and finally resolve deeply conditioned styles that perpetuate pain. This absolutely specific handbook for the brain certain to turn into a relied on spouse to many internal explorers.

Show description

Continue reading »

The Reality of Being: The Fourth Way of Gurdjieff

According to notebooks saved through G.I. Gurdjieff's closest follower, this ebook deals new perception on his religious teachings—a means of gnosis or "knowledge of being" handed on from distant antiquity. it's a whole and uniquely authoritative advisor to the good teacher's principles and to his equipment for freeing ourselves from the country of "waking sleep" during which such a lot people reside our lives.

Show description

Continue reading »

In This Very Life : The Liberation Teachings of the Buddha

Burmese meditation grasp Sayadaw U Pandita exhibits us that freedom is as quick as respiring, as primary as a footstep. during this booklet he describes the trail of the Buddha and calls we all to that heroic trip of liberation. Enlivened by means of a variety of case histories and anecdotes, In This Very Life is a matchless advisor to the interior territory of meditation - as defined via the Buddha.

Show description

Continue reading »

The Unfolding Now: Realizing Your True Nature through the Practice of Presence

By A. H. Almaas

The keys to self-knowledge and deep contentment  are here sooner than us during this very moment—if we will be able to easily discover ways to reside with open information. In The Unfolding Now, A. H. Almaas offers a marvelously potent perform for constructing the transformative caliber of presence. via a selected approach to self-observation and contemplative exploration that he calls inquiry, we learn how to dwell within the comfy situation  of easily "being ourselves," with out interference from emotions of inadequacy, drivenness towards targets, suffering to determine issues out, and rejecting reports we do not wish. Almaas explores the numerous hindrances  that retain us from being present—including defensiveness, lack of understanding, hope, aggression, and self-hatred—and indicates us how one can welcome with interest and compassion no matter what we're experiencing.

Show description

Continue reading »

Courage: Overcoming Fear and Igniting Self-Confidence

By Debbie Ford

From Debbie Ford, the writer whose inspiring phrases have helped hundreds of thousands of readers, Courage has the ability to alter your existence. A tried-and-tested, process-driven method of conquering our fears, accepting our flaws, and tapping into our power, Courage will aid readers become aware of the arrogance they should accomplish anything.

In this own and robust consultant to self-actualization, Ford makes use of the years of knowledge she has accrued as a non secular instructor and private progress trainer to bring an integral device for somebody desirous to turn into their very own most sensible self—a excellent healthy for readers of Deepak Chopra, Wayne Dyer, and Judith Orloff, for brand spanking new readers of Debbie Ford, and for longtime fanatics of her nationwide bestselling books The 21-Day cognizance Cleanse, The darkish facet of the sunshine Chasers, The mystery of the Shadow, and more.

Show description

Continue reading »

Spiritual Initiation and the Breakthrough of Consciousness: The Bond of Power

By Joseph Chilton Pearce

Explains the phenomenon of shaktipat, the non secular transmission of energy from a instructor to a devotee

• exhibits how expertise has eroded own energy and the way perception and information can play a better position in our lives

• unearths how perception is the motor vehicle for profound self-transformation

Shakti is the artistic strength, the bonding energy, that holds the universe jointly. Shaktipat is the instant whilst enlightenment is conferred upon a pupil right away through his master’s contact. The guru conferring shaktipat creates a bond of strength in those that have authorised her or him as their instructor. In Spiritual Initiation and the step forward of awareness Joseph Chilton Pearce describes his adventure of shaktipat from his instructor Swami Muktananda. From this awakening Pearce reports a dramatic shift of brain and is derived to the belief that belief is truth and that perception is our purely car for profound self-transformation.

Oneness with God is the birthright of each person, although we're culturally vaccinated to withstand experiencing this better attention. Our look for aim fact has lead us to not wholeness, yet as a substitute to the idea that we've got no bond to one another, to God, or to an inanimate, actual international. Our expertise reduces our skill to adventure revelation and leads us in its place towards the chatter of stressed considering. The problem confronted by means of sleek humanity, that's the problem Muktananda gave to his scholars, is to passionately assemble up the scattered fragments of our lives and channel them into the artistic realm, the place with perception or revelation we will turn into greater than ourselves.

Show description

Continue reading »

The Varieties of Religious Experience: A Study in Human Nature (Centenary Edition)

By William James

Commemorating the one hundredth anniversary of "the such a lot influential publication written on faith within the 20th century," Routledge will proudly submit an incredible new version of William James's flip of the century classic.
Paving the way in which for all glossy non secular idea, The different types of spiritual event used to be progressive in its view of spiritual existence as established now not in the Church, yet exclusively in the individual. James, a bright, refined stylist writing for the skeptical, nonspecialist reader, was once the 1st to outline spirituality as "the emotions, acts, and reports of person males of their solitude." during this version, students Taylor and Carrette convey a brand new figuring out to James's existence and his choice, within the chilly, clinical face of the economic Revolution, to reaffirm the ability of person trust.
One hundred years after its ebook James's paintings is still much more very important than earlier than. past its effect at the founding of Alcoholics nameless, past its impression on launching the yankee pastoral counseling circulate, and past its function in spawning the psychology of faith, it continues to be a ebook that empowers members and evokes readers with erudition, perception, and kindness.
No dialogue of present faith - from the fundamentalist revival to the recent Age circulation - is whole with no an appreciation of this groundbreaking paintings.

Show description

Continue reading »

Kama Sutra: A Guide to the Art of Pleasure

By A. N. D. Haksar, Vātsyāyana

The notice "kama" capability the need for sensual excitement in Sanskrit, and used to be thought of a vital a part of the well-rounded schooling of a tender, urbane gentleman. Treating excitement as an paintings, Kama Sutra is a instruction manual masking each point of affection and relationships. Its seven sections are dedicated to the social existence, courtship and marriage, extra-marital kinfolk, the behavior of courtesans and prescriptions for reinforcing acceptance, in addition to systematic, special guideline on intercourse. This re-creation of Kama Sutra casts it in a brand new gentle, taking it clear of the well-worn picture of an erotic, Oriental interest. This transparent, exact translation conveys all of the unique flavour and believe of this dependent, intimate and highly relaxing paintings; a masterpiece of pithy description and a wry account of human wants and foibles.

Show description

Continue reading »

Spiritual Evolution: A Scientific Defense of Faith

By George Vaillant

In our present period of holy terror, passionate religion has come to appear like a gift probability. Writers comparable to Richard Dawkins, Sam Harris, and Christopher Hitchens were chuffed to throw the child out with the bathwater and claim that the risk is in faith itself. God, Hitchens writes, isn't great.

But guy, in accordance with George E. Vaillant, M.D., is superb. In religious Evolution, Dr. Vaillant lays out an excellent safeguard now not of equipped faith yet of man's inherent spirituality. Our spirituality, he exhibits, is living in our uniquely human mind layout and in our innate capability for feelings like love, desire, pleasure, forgiveness, and compassion, that are chosen for by means of evolution and found in a unique a part of the mind than dogmatic non secular trust. Evolution has made us religious creatures over the years, he argues, and we're destined to turn into much more so. non secular Evolution makes the medical case for spirituality as a favorable strength in human evolution, and he predicts for our species a fair extra loving future.

Vaillant strains this confident strength in 3 other forms of "evolution": the ordinary number of genes over millennia, after all, but additionally the cultural evolution inside of recorded background of rules in regards to the price of human lifestyles, and the improvement of spirituality in the life of each one person. For thirty-five years, Dr. Vaillant directed Harvard's well-known longitudinal examine of grownup improvement, which has 1000's of fellows over seven a long time of lifestyles. The research has yielded vital insights into human spirituality, and Dr. Vaillant has drawn on those and on a number mental examine, behavioral experiences, and neuroscience, and on heritage, anecdote, and citation to supply a booklet that's immediately a piece of clinical argument and a lyrical meditation on what it skill to be human.

Spiritual Evolution is a life's paintings, and it'll fix our trust in religion as a vital human striving.

Show description

Continue reading »